FANDOM

• Hey Ducksoup,

We've discussed the infobox proposal at The Elder Scrolls Wiki and we've decided to join the project.

Loading editor
    • Hey Flightmare,

Oh goodness, that makes me SO HAPPY. OK, I'll be in touch soon with next steps. Please tell your co-admins that they are rockstars and have earned a pizza party at my house next time they're in San Francisco.

Loading editor
    • Hi Flightmare thank you for volunteering!

I'm a product manager at wikia leading the Infoboxes initiative. I'm also a big fan of Wikia and a dedicated cotributor and founder :) I used to be a HUGE fan and ocasionall modder of Morrowind.

Together with my team we would like to start working on migrating the infoboxes on elderscrolls.wikia.com . Where would be a good place to start?

Loading editor
    • I think the best start would be NPC templates, I often use them for showcasing as they are both simple in structure and popular in pageviews. We have a template per game: w:c:tes:Template:SkyrimNPCs, w:c:tes:Template:OblivionNPCs, w:c:tes:Template:MorrowindNPCs and w:c:tes:Template:OnlineNPCs. All of these are nearly identical and could benefit from some kind of inheritance system, perhaps some kind of master NPC-template (if possible). When I designed the templates a few years back I tried to make an as good as possible split between table structure and the 'look and feel'. The corresponding stylesheets are located at w:c:tes:MediaWiki:Common.css/infobox.css and cover all templates across the wiki.

From there on we could probably tackle the location templates (there are way too many of them around, someone made an awful lot of duplicates a while ago and I'm about to propose we merge them back into one location template per game). The location templates are like the NPC templates in structure.