FANDOM

• I'm an admin of a game related wiki, and I'm kind of doing a pass at cleaning up some aspects of it. One of those is the license/copyright notice on the images.

Most of the images on the site will obviously come from screenshot taken while playing the game, with some other content coming from what the publisher has put on their site.

To make life easier to our contributors, I have created two new license templates: License-FairUseScreenshot:

This file is a screenshot from the game, using material copyrighted to Webzen West inc. and Gala Lab Corp. [[Media:{{PAGENAME}}|This file]] is [[Wikipedia:Copyright|copyrighted]]. The individual who uploaded this work and first used it in an article, and subsequent persons who place it into articles, assert that this qualifies as ''fair use'' of the material under [[Wikipedia:Fair use#Fair use under United States law|United States copyright law]].

...and License-CopyrightedFairUseOfficialMaterial:

This file is an image taken from the official Rappelz website and it is copyrighted to Webzen West inc. [[Media:{{PAGENAME}}|This file]] is [[Wikipedia:Copyright|copyrighted]]. The individual who uploaded this work and first used it in an article, and subsequent persons who place it into articles, assert that this qualifies as ''fair use'' of the material under [[Wikipedia:Fair use#Fair use under United States law|United States copyright law]].

Is that right? Or is the image copyrighted to the user who uploaded the image?

Also, if a user takes a screenshot, paints stuff over it (e.g. marking a specific location over a screenshot of a map), what should be the license?

Thanks!

Loading editor
    • If the images are used for promotional purposes related to the copyrighted material, the above notices are fine.