FANDOM

• I don't know if this is the place for this or not but I have an issue. I am the owner of a wiki, but I am the only one taking care of it. I need to get some admins that can take care of the wiki when I am not available. There are constant issues with trolls messing things up and I need to know that the wiki is safe when I'm not there. Anybody have tips for choosing admins?

Loading editor
    • In the past, I've looked around when I needed admins to see who was making good contributions on a regular basis. They may have only been around for a few weeks, but you can get a good idea if they mean well. Perhaps just as important is making sure you can continue to work with them after downtime.

If you're running a small wiki, it's not unheard of to reach out to users on similar wikis to 'help out' if they have some time. I've been an admin in the past on wikis that I am not familiar with the source material, but most vandalism can be quite obvious.

Loading editor
    • What Wiki is this? Is it active? 

Loading editor
    • Doesn't appear to be active at the moment, but it is still there:

https://megamanteams.fandom.com/wiki/Main_Page

https://megamanteams.fandom.com/wiki/User:Buckimion

Loading editor
    • Buckimion wrote:
      Doesn't appear to be active at the moment, but it is still there:

https://megamanteams.fandom.com/wiki/Main_Page

https://megamanteams.fandom.com/wiki/User:Buckimion

If all of the admins and bureaucrats are inactive, then OP can adopt the Wiki by contacting Fandom staff here.

Loading editor
    • Sorry, I think one of us misunderstood. I'm pretty sure he has a wiki already and wanted to know about promoting admins to help out during his 'downtime'. I pointed out that while it is always preferred to promote regular users, it isn't unheard of to reach out to good users elsewhere for vandalism help. I thought you were wanting to know where such an event occured.

Loading editor
    • Buckimion wrote: