FANDOM

• per the information on that page, i'm trying to customize MediaWiki:Welcome-message-wall-user on a wiki where i am a sysop. the idea was to breathe some life into this feature by allowing individual sysops to customize the welcome message to better reflect their individual styles. i know this message supports wikitext markup because the default value contains wikitext markup, and per Help:Welcome_tool, $2 should be the message wall of the sysop the welcome message is being attributed to. with that in mind, i added this to the welcome message:

{{#ifexist:{{SUBJECTPAGENAME:$2}}/Welcome|{{{{SUBJECTPAGENAME:$2}}/Welcome}}| fallback content }}

every part of this except $2 can be previewed in the page editor. replacing $2 with Message_Wall:SomeSysop generates a preview that works the way i expect it to. but the actual welcome messages generated by the welcome tool all use the fallback content. what am i missing?

Loading editor
    • Which wiki is this?

Loading editor
    •   Loading editor
    • Are there any actual examples of where this hasn't worked? I can only find 2 users that joined the day of/after you made the changes to the system message; neither have received a welcome message. the substitution of a value for "$2" is done only when the message is posted to a user's message wall. As such, the system message's page sees "$2" as literally "$2". Your markup then checks to see if page "$2" exists; which it doesn't.

Loading editor
    • Are you sure about the preview? When I test with the dummy value, it doesn't work.

{{SUBJECTPAGENAME:Message_Wall:SomeSysop}}

This gives me:

Message Wall:SomeSysop

Loading editor
    • that was an example; there's not an actual user named SomeSysop. there is one (me) named Ejeleina.

Loading editor