He still has his avatar, though.
If it’s by FANDOM, his profile picture is kept, if it is by user choice, it is not kept. That’s what I think. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
If you have one of the six default avatars, then they'll stay. But if the avatar was uploaded, it would be removed if an account got disabled. But it's rare how an uploaded avatars stays on a disabled account.