Any user can remove content from a page (e.g. sentences, paragraphs, images, etc.), but only administrators and content moderators can delete pages. This is often done in cases of spam and vandalism, but may also be used to remove inappropriate, unwanted, obsolete, gibberish, or off-topic pages.
How to delete
If you find a page that you feel should be deleted and do not have the rights to do so, contact your local administrators or content moderators. You can also mark a page as a candidate for deletion by adding the Delete template, which will mark it as a page that was marked as a candidate for deletion. If the page is a result of spam or vandalism, you may contact the Spam Obliteration and Prevention by using the report form. Otherwise, follow the steps below.
Deleting a page
- To delete a page, hover over the arrow next to the "Edit" (based on settings, it may appear as "Edit source") button at the top of the page, then click "Delete".
- On the next page, you will see a box labeled "Delete".
- The "Reason" drop-down has pre-written reasons for deleting the page. An additional reason can be supplied via the "Other/additional reason" box.
- Watching the page is also possible when deleting a page. If the page is restored or recreated, a notification will be sent to your email address.
- Click the "Delete page" button.
- After the page is deleted, you will be redirected to the main page of the wiki where a banner will appear at the top confirming the page's deletion.
- Special:Log/delete allows a review of all deletions on a wiki.
- When viewing a previously deleted page, the log of the deletion is shown.
Restoring a page
Any deleted page can be restored by an administrator or content moderator.
- To restore a deleted page, go to Special:Undelete.
- Enter the deleted page title in the "Show pages starting with" box and click "Search".
- Find the page that should be restored and click on it.
- In the "Restore revisions" box, further directions are shown. Add a restoration reason in the "Reason" box and click the "Restore" button.
- If no revisions are selected, all revisions will be restored.