FANDOM


m (Further help and feedback: Mass editing of links)
(32 intermediate revisions by 26 users not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
__NOTOC__Every founder of a Wikia community has '''bureaucrat''' rights on the wikia they founded. Other users may also be granted this access, by the founder, or by another bureaucrat. This page is a basic guide to using your bureaucrat powers.
+
<jwplayer media-id="4NhI8Vu6" />Every community's [[Help:Founders|founder]] has '''bureaucrat''' rights on that wiki. Other users may also be granted this access, by the founder or by another bureaucrat. This page is a basic guide to using your bureaucrat powers.
   
 
A bureaucrat can add and remove groups using [[Special:UserRights]].
 
A bureaucrat can add and remove groups using [[Special:UserRights]].
   
Generally, bureaucrats also have admin rights, which allow for most commmunity management tasks. For more info on admin powers, see the [[Help:Administrators' how-to guide|Administrators' how-to guide]].
+
Generally, bureaucrats also have admin rights, which allow for most community management tasks. For more info on admin powers, see the [[Help:Administrators' how-to guide|administrators' how-to guide]].
+
__NOTOC__
<br style="clear:both" />
+
== How do I grant user rights? ==
+
=== Overview ===
==How do I grant rollback or admin rights?==
+
[[File:Burform.png|thumb|The UserRights control panel|300px]] By default on Fandom, a bureaucrat can grant rollback, content moderator, administrator, and bureaucrat rights, and can revoke rollback, content moderator, admin, and bot rights. While bureaucrats cannot directly remove other user's bureaucrat status (please [[Special:Contact|contact Fandom Staff]] if this is needed), a bureaucrat may remove their own bureaucrat rights. Administrators (sysops) have the rollback, Content Moderator, Discussion Moderator, and Chat Moderator permissions included by default, so adding these groups to administrators is unnecessary.
===How-To Video===
 
[[Video:Granting admin rights on your wiki|thumb|620px|left|Watch this quick video on how to grant another user admin rights]]
 
 
<br style="clear:both" />
 
===Overview===
 
 
[[File:Burform.png|thumb|The UserRights control panel|300px]] By default on Wikia, a bureaucrat can grant rollback, administrator, and bureaucrat, and can revoke rollback and admin rights. While bureaucrats cannot directly remove other user's bureaucrat status (please contact Wikia Staff if this is needed), a bureaucrat may remove their own bureaucrat group. Administrators (sysops) have the rollback permissions included, so adding rollback to administrators is unnecessary. Some communities may be able to add or remove additional groups, such as 'bot', or wiki-specific groups.
 
 
===Step-by-Step===
 
   
  +
=== Step-by-step ===
 
* Go to [[Special:UserRights]]. There is a link to UserRights on the list of [[Special:Specialpages|special pages]] and on each user's Special:Contributions view.
 
* Go to [[Special:UserRights]]. There is a link to UserRights on the list of [[Special:Specialpages|special pages]] and on each user's Special:Contributions view.
 
 
* Enter the user's name (case sensitive!) and click "Edit User Groups". The form shown at the right will be made available.
 
* Enter the user's name (case sensitive!) and click "Edit User Groups". The form shown at the right will be made available.
 
 
* Select the appropriate right(s) under "Groups you can change".
 
* Select the appropriate right(s) under "Groups you can change".
 
 
* Fill in "Reason for change".
 
* Fill in "Reason for change".
 
 
* Double-check your work! Make sure you're giving rights to the right person by checking the links to the user page and the contributions!
 
* Double-check your work! Make sure you're giving rights to the right person by checking the links to the user page and the contributions!
 
 
* Click "Save User Groups".
 
* Click "Save User Groups".
 
 
* Once you save the form, a confirmation message will display which groups the user is now in, and the change in rights will be recorded at [[Special:Log/rights]].
 
* Once you save the form, a confirmation message will display which groups the user is now in, and the change in rights will be recorded at [[Special:Log/rights]].
   
The user gains administrator access immediately. If the user has watchlist settings enabled, they will get an immediate email alerting them to this change. There is a link to the user's [[Help:Message Wall|Message Wall]] or [[Help:Talk pages|talk page]] on the form -- after receiving the confirmation, you may wish to use this to notify and congratulate the user, and perhaps provide links to [[Help:Administrators' how-to guide]] and any local policies for administrators on your wikia.
+
The user gains administrator access immediately. If the user has watchlist settings enabled, they will get an immediate email alerting them to this change. There is a link to the user's [[Help:Message Wall|Message Wall]] or [[Help:Talk pages|talk page]] on the form -- after receiving the confirmation, you may wish to use this to notify and congratulate the user, and perhaps provide links to [[Help:Administrators' how-to guide]] and any local policies for administrators on your community.
   
==See also==
+
== See also ==
*[[Help:User access levels]] has descriptions of all the user rights groups on Wikia
+
*[[Help:User access levels]] has descriptions of all the user rights groups on Fandom
 
*[[Help:Administrators' how-to guide]]
 
*[[Help:Administrators' how-to guide]]
* Edit ever faster by learning [[Help:Keyboard_shortcuts|keyboard shortcuts]]!
+
* Edit even faster by learning [[Help:Keyboard shortcuts|keyboard shortcuts]]!
 
==Further Help & Feedback==
 
{{Help and feedback section}}
 
 
[[de:Hilfe:Bürokraten]]
 
   
  +
== Further help and feedback ==
  +
{{Help and feedback section}}[[de:Hilfe:Bürokraten]]
  +
[[es:Ayuda:Burócratas]]
  +
[[fr:Aide:Guide du bureaucrate]]
  +
[[ja:ヘルプ:ビューロクラット利用ガイド]]
  +
[[pl:Pomoc:Poradnik biurokraty]]
  +
[[pt:Ajuda:Guia como-fazer para burocratas]]
  +
[[tr:Yardım:Bürokratları nasıl yapılır kılavuzu]]
  +
[[vi:Trợ giúp:Hướng dẫn dành cho hành chính viên]]
  +
[[zh:Help:行政員指南]]
 
[[Category:Advice]]
 
[[Category:Advice]]
 
[[Category:Administration help]]
 
[[Category:Administration help]]

Revision as of 06:51, December 1, 2019

Every community's founder has bureaucrat rights on that wiki. Other users may also be granted this access, by the founder or by another bureaucrat. This page is a basic guide to using your bureaucrat powers.

A bureaucrat can add and remove groups using Special:UserRights.

Generally, bureaucrats also have admin rights, which allow for most community management tasks. For more info on admin powers, see the administrators' how-to guide.

How do I grant user rights?

Overview

Burform

The UserRights control panel

By default on Fandom, a bureaucrat can grant rollback, content moderator, administrator, and bureaucrat rights, and can revoke rollback, content moderator, admin, and bot rights. While bureaucrats cannot directly remove other user's bureaucrat status (please contact Fandom Staff if this is needed), a bureaucrat may remove their own bureaucrat rights. Administrators (sysops) have the rollback, Content Moderator, Discussion Moderator, and Chat Moderator permissions included by default, so adding these groups to administrators is unnecessary.

Step-by-step

  • Go to Special:UserRights. There is a link to UserRights on the list of special pages and on each user's Special:Contributions view.
  • Enter the user's name (case sensitive!) and click "Edit User Groups". The form shown at the right will be made available.
  • Select the appropriate right(s) under "Groups you can change".
  • Fill in "Reason for change".
  • Double-check your work! Make sure you're giving rights to the right person by checking the links to the user page and the contributions!
  • Click "Save User Groups".
  • Once you save the form, a confirmation message will display which groups the user is now in, and the change in rights will be recorded at Special:Log/rights.

The user gains administrator access immediately. If the user has watchlist settings enabled, they will get an immediate email alerting them to this change. There is a link to the user's Message Wall or talk page on the form -- after receiving the confirmation, you may wish to use this to notify and congratulate the user, and perhaps provide links to Help:Administrators' how-to guide and any local policies for administrators on your community.

See also

Further help and feedback

Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.