Community Central
Register
Community Central
Forums: Index Support Requests Anonymous users create more new empty pages since migration to UCP
Fandom's forums are a place for the community to help other members.
To contact staff directly or to report bugs, please use Special:Contact.
Archive
Note: This topic has been unedited for 1132 days. It is considered archived - the discussion is over. Information in this thread may be out of date. Do not add to unless it really needs a response.

I'm an admin on the Duck Game Fandom/Wikia which gets somewhere around 500-1000 visits a day. Since the migration the the new Unified Community Platform I've noticed an uptick in anonymous/IP users creating new empty, blank pages.

They seem to follow the red links in articles to non-existent articles, the page titles are not malicious or totally random. I'm not sure why, maybe visitors get confused and don't know how to exit from the editor?

It's not a huge problem, it happens maybe once or twice a week, but this is still a lot more than before on the old platform.

Is there a way to disallow anonymous users from creating new pages? I found an old discussion here, apparently Fandom admins are able to enforce this temporarily, but it has not become a feature of the Fandom platform as of now (as far as I can see).

Thanks ImbaSteckdose (talk) 22:19, 29 January 2021 (UTC)

You can protect a page and only allow it's creation for autoconfirmed users or administrators, but you would have to do that manually one by one. So you wouldn't be able to just flip a switch for all page creation. What you CAN do, however, is set your wiki so only users who are logged in can contribute at all. I personally have that on one of my wikis that was getting a lot of bad anonymous traffic as well. Zacatero • (Wall) • 15  20  15 22:21, 29 January 2021 (UTC)